“Does my tattoo make you uncomfortable?”

A few months ago I retained a t-shirt with the verse of John 3:16 printed on it. I hardly wear it out because its over sized and I love lounging around in it. I wore it out a few days ago and I got a response from it.

I was standing in line at a store waiting to be checked out. There was a new guy and I had never seen him before at this store, because I go to that specific store regularly. Anyways the guy behind the counter has a specific tattoo on him. The tattoo was of a pentagram. So being in all obviousness I knew he was not saved. There had never been a time or place where he even tried to get to know the Jesus I know. The young man behind the counter noticed that I glanced down at his tattoo. He laughed and asked

“Does my tattoo make you uncomfortable?” I looked up at him with a questioning look. “Why would it make me nervous? I have family and friends who have them. ” He nodded down towards my shirt and he recognized me for my faith not my religion. I looked up at him and asked something that was completely out of my comfort zone. “Does my T-shirt make you uncomfortable?” He said yes and I left him with a tract and told him to read it and if he had any questions call the number on the back and press one for the church office.

That moment I realized I was probably the only little bit of Jesus that he had seen before. I smiled and walked away because of the line behind me. The fact of the matter is, is that this world is so dark and far away from God. They are not shown the love of Jesus and that is something that we as Christians are supposed to do. To saturate the world to fulfill the great commission as mentioned in Matthew 28:19-20,

Leave a comment